Author Topic: Has anybody ever got any benefit from LinkedIn?  (Read 1342 times)

The Bass Bagwhan

Has anybody ever got any benefit from LinkedIn?
« on: April 04, 2020, 10:02:32 AM »
As a writer I'm not only penning novels, I do freelance work, a bit web content and voice-overs. I've been ignoring my LinkedIn profile for years (didn't we all sign up at first?). Wondering if I should make an effort to grab maybe some freelance stuff. Has anybody ever gotten anything useful from a LinkedIn memberships?

Shoe

Re: Has anybody ever got any benefit from LinkedIn?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2020, 10:07:02 AM »
NO. And I don't know anyone who has.
Martin Luther King: "Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance and conscientious stupidity."

Tom Wood

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2020, 10:49:45 AM »
I'm considering the same thing. I was juuuust about to chase some marketing work for architects when the pandemic hit. Architecture is one of the first professions to feel an economic downturn because businesses cancel long-term capital investments. That profession will be dead for at least two years. What I'm seeing now is a strong uptick in jobs for people with social media experience, including on LinkedIn. I'm penning some articles to post there, as well as at Medium, my website, and the various other platforms. It's called content marketing. Those job postings say right out that they want people with the ability to tell a business's Story! Imagine that!

Put together a resume/portfolio and post it at LinkedIn, being aware of what is in demand now - online engagement. On a sidenote, I also ordered some tabletop LED video lights and a backdrop so I can look presentable in an online interview/job interaction. Brush up on Zoom, GoToMeeting, and the others. We're gonna be here for a while...
« Last Edit: April 04, 2020, 10:52:40 PM by Tom Wood »

LilyBLily

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2020, 11:29:20 AM »