Author Topic: D2D and Amazon reviews  (Read 2704 times)

DCM

D2D and Amazon reviews
« on: November 30, 2019, 06:34:29 AM »
Hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving.

I publish all my eBooks via D2D and I noticed something.  Amazon is included in my distributions.  It appears that when I republish changes, any previous reviews on Amazon go away.  I am fairly sure that did not happen when my eBooks were "pure" kindle.

Can anyone confirm this or comment?

Thank you,

DCM

Bill Hiatt

• Trilogy unlocked
  • Tickling the imagination one book at a time
    • Bill Hiatt's Author Website
Re: D2D and Amazon reviews
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2019, 07:43:13 AM »
I don't distribute to Amazon through D2D, so I have no direct knowledge. However, there are people who do, and nobody has previously reported this particular problem. A book put up through a distributor shouldn't behave this way as a result of an update any more than a book put up through KDP would. I think I'm on firm ground in saying it's a glitch of some kind.

I'd reach out to KDP support and get them to fix the problem. You may have to go up a few levels, but they should be able to restore your reviews.

Moving forward, it might be wise to think about going direct to Amazon with your future books. I use D2D also and like the convenience, but I continue to distribute directly to Amazon. It's easy enough to do, and there's no reason to give D2D a cut of the venue that generates most of my sales.

Tickling the imagination one book at a time
Bill Hiatt | fiction website | education website | Facebook author page | Twitter

DCM

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2019, 08:18:37 AM »
Thanks for the reply, Bill.

My next book will be Amazon direct.

LilyBLily

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2019, 01:53:56 PM »
You can easily delist your current books from D2D. Just remember to upload them to Amazon first!

alhawke

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2019, 02:58:05 AM »