Author Topic: Great compliment!  (Read 2821 times)

A. N. Onymous

Great compliment!
« on: November 17, 2018, 06:08:00 AM »
I am only a prawny author, selling books in the single digits each month, sometimes not at all. I do stock my paperbacks to sell locally in my township of Moulamein (pop. 500). At least that is what is on the sign outside of town. More like a population of 350 I reckon.
I have one lady who said she absolutely loved my first book, read it several times, and raved about it every time I saw her. Last night she approached me at a local club, very shyly, to ask if I might autograph her copy of my second novel. Naturally, I was happy to do so for my number one fan. After she read what I wrote, with a tear forming at the corner of her eye, she says...
"It's the best book I've ever read."
Kinda got choked up a bit myself after that. Compliments don't get much better than that. If you are not receiving monetary compensation for your efforts, it is rewards like this that keep you going as a writer.
Now, folks, I know my book is not the best book ever written by a country mile. Obviously, there was something in it that connected for her, and that is all a writer can ever hope to achieve. Don't give up on your dreams if you are not earning your money back or making a profit, it will come eventually if you stick to it. There are other compensations to keep you going. Reach just one reader, and it can be bloody special.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 06:10:28 AM by Phoenix »

catowned

Re: Great compliment!
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2018, 06:23:29 AM »
That's lovely. She's a true fan.
And you know she's waiting for novel #3.

Post-Crisis D

« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2018, 06:58:02 AM »
Congrats!   :clap:
Mulder: "If you're distracted by fear of those around you, it keeps you from seeing the actions of those above."
The X-Files: "Blood"

RappaDizzy

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2018, 09:46:11 AM »