Author Topic: How would you go about finding writing partners?  (Read 1118 times)

jdcore

How would you go about finding writing partners?
« on: November 27, 2018, 06:03:35 AM »
So, in 2019 I have a few writing projects I want to begin, but I'm honestly not equipped for either. At least not on my own.

The first is a true-crime story. A local guy was convicted of murder and he is suspected of several others. As it turns out, he was a friend of my brother's in high school, and I know the family of his victim he was convicted of killing. I also know the local sheriff who caught him, and the local police chief is also somebody I went to school with.

Problem is, I have no experience writing this kind of thing. I write murder mysteries and crime stories, but I do all my research from my chair online. I've never interviewed law enforcement or victim families or (obviously) a convicted killer, but if I had a partner who had ...

Honestly, I wouldn't even know how to go about approaching any of these people, or promoting the book when it's done. How would I go about finding a writing partner to teach me? What should I even offer such a partner up front? Shared by-line? Top billing? Cash?

The second book is a sci-fi/horror story idea. Like I said, I usually write mysteries and crime stories, but I have a unique idea for a speculative tale, but I don't know how to write the science-ie parts necessarily. Should I write a treatment and then ask in forums? Should I send the treatment cold, directly to potential partners I find on my own? Should I tease the idea in forums? Should I approach agents and when I find one ask him/her to hook me up with a fellow client?