Author Topic: Do You Still Make Omnibus/Full Collection Books of your Series?  (Read 2973 times)

MelanieMRodriguez

Do You Still Make Omnibus/Full Collection Books of your Series?
« on: October 04, 2018, 10:13:04 PM »
Cleaning up my backlist, I can see an old omnibus collection I have. Since Amazon pulls books in a series together to show the reader now, is it still a good idea to make one ebook full of an entire series for a slightly cheaper price?

Mark Gardner

Re: Do You Still Make Omnibus/Full Collection Books of your Series?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 10:38:12 PM »
As a writer, I'm not a fan of doing this because it devalues my writing-- especially if the omnibus is a discount price. Also, the omnibus ends up cannibalizing reviews from the individual books. Now, if I'm doing a special thing like Netgalley, I'll do an omnibus to maximize the NetGalley run.

As a reader, I'm a fan of the value of an omnibus, but it makes my yearly book count wonky, and manually updating my reading progress on goodreads more of a hassle.

The following users thanked this post: MelanieMRodriguez, fferyllt

Maggie Ann

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 10:43:37 PM »
As a reader, I don't like more than 3-4 books in an omnibus. Otherwise, it just seems to go on forever. Of course, I like the value of paying less for the full series, but sometimes the value isn't there. I might get a few chapters in to the first book and find it's not something I really want to read, or there are a lot of typos, missing words or misplaced words. Then I've wasted my money.

Someone once said wait a year before putting together a box set/bundle/omnibus. I think that's good advice.

The following users thanked this post: MelanieMRodriguez

MelanieMRodriguez

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2018, 11:10:21 PM »