Author Topic: Kris Rusch blog post on "Rethinking the Writing Business"  (Read 8934 times)

Ghost5

Kris Rusch blog post on "Rethinking the Writing Business"
« on: June 28, 2019, 09:24:03 AM »
I thought I'd share Kristine Kathryn Rusch's latest Business Musings blog post entitled, "Rethinking the Writing Business". It's part one of what looks like will be a series of posts and information.

Good stuff, IMO.

Here's the link:

https://kriswrites.com/2019/06/26/business-musings-rethinking-the-writing-business-part-one/

:catrun

The following users thanked this post: Demon_Lord, Denise, Kate Elizabeth, JRTomlin

Kate Elizabeth

Re: Kris Rusch blog post on "Rethinking the Writing Business"
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2019, 10:08:23 AM »
I read the post a couple of hours ago. Good stuff to think about.

The following users thanked this post: Ghost5

PJ Post

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2019, 10:37:31 AM »
I've been saying this for a couple of years now. Not the bit about licensing, but that books are nothing more than packaging. The thing we're selling is the story - what KKR refers to as the entertainment IP. And while she's getting closer, that's not really the truth of it either.

What we're really selling is access. The book, as we know it, is an artifact of the Market of Things. Whether we're aware of it or not, we've transitioned into the Market of Access. No one needs the physical package anymore, be it a paper book, a kindle file or even a CD, MP3 or DVD. In order to enjoy our entertainment choices, we just need access to the narrative IP experience, which includes music, film and written stories. Think Spotify, Pandora or Netflix. But it’s not the streaming technology that makes this so revolutionary, it’s that we, as consumers, never take possession of anything.

As a result, the entertainment business model has dramatically changed. But not publishing. We’re woefully behind.

The following users thanked this post: Denise, Leo

Shoe