Author Topic: [Jan Hurst-Nicholson] The Pitfalls, Pratfalls and Perils of Public Speaking  (Read 1907 times)

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
FREE until 29th January

Some things can only be learned from red-faced experience, like forgetting to switch off your lapel mike when visiting the restroom.


In this practical guide to public speaking experienced speakers share their anecdotes and tips on what to do, what not to do - and what can go hilariously wrong!

The ability to speak [confidently] in public is probably the most rewarding skill you will ever learn. It will not only improve your career prospects, but will also boost your self-confidence at social functions.

If you’ve ever:

Felt nervous about a career promotion because it involved public speaking.
Been afraid to speak up in meetings, even when you have something valid to say.
Turned down an invitation to speak at your garden club or similar occasions.
Stepped up to the mike, only to choke horribly in the attempt.
Felt intimidated by the thought of proposing a simple toast, or introducing and thanking a speaker.

You’ll learn how to conquer these fears in this step-by-step guide that takes you through all aspects of public speaking giving practical examples of what to do; what not to do – and what can go hilariously wrong!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FJVP47B





« Last Edit: January 26, 2024, 09:23:29 PM by Jan Hurst-Nicholson »

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website
 

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
Hi. If you enjoy family sagas I'm doing a FREE promo from 5-8 April (US pacific time) on my ebook THE BREADWINNERS.  Please share with friends who enjoy sagas.

This link will take you to your Amazon website.   http://getbook.at/Breadwinners   Or go straight to Amazon.com https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0042P5HCK

An epic family saga set in South Africa.

A spurned lover marries for money and ignites a family feud of betrayal and revenge that spans three generations.

It is New Year’s Eve 1924 and the fiery and volatile Charles McGill is devastated when the woman he loves announces her engagement to the mild-mannered Lucas Connelly, his friend and co-worker. Charles drowns his sorrow in drink and seduces Hilde Richter, the spinster daughter of a wealthy businessman.

When Hilde finds she is pregnant her desperate father offers to set up the penniless Charles with his own bakery if he will marry her. Charles readily agrees and, unknown to Hilde, the two men draw up a contract. It is the beginning of a bitter rivalry between Charles and Lucas, and their vengeful former employer, Miles Davenport. A rivalry that fractures families, tests love and loyalty, and comes at a cost that Charles could never have imagined.

The Breadwinners covers six tumultuous decades and leads us through the ruthless and cutthroat business dealings of the three families as they survive the great depression, the war years, the isolation of South Africa and the advent of company takeovers. If you like historical fiction set in exotic locations, and enjoy authors such as Barbara Taylor Bradford, Catherine Gaskin and Belva Plain then grab a copy of The Breadwinners.



« Last Edit: April 05, 2021, 05:47:24 AM by Jan Hurst-Nicholson »

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website
 

Maggie Ann

Re: [Jan Hurst-Nicholson] FREE The Breadwinners (a family saga) 5-8 April
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2021, 07:18:40 AM »
Got it (2017), read it, loved it, reviewed it.
           
 
The following users thanked this post: Jan Hurst-Nicholson

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
Re: [Jan Hurst-Nicholson] FREE The Breadwinners (a family saga) 5-8 April
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2021, 05:52:29 PM »
Got it (2017), read it, loved it, reviewed it.

Thanks so much  :Tup2:

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website
 

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
Re: [Jan Hurst-Nicholson] FREE The Race (children's book) August 12-16 2022
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2023, 12:40:37 AM »
To celebrate International Left-Handers Day on 13th August I'm making my children's ebook FREE on all Amazon stores from 12-16 August (US time). It's inspirational for left-handed children and contains valuable information for parents and teachers.

Vicky is left-handed and teased for being clumsy, but when her gran comes to stay Vicky learns that being left-handed has its own advantages – and in a quite spectacular way.

Vicky’s Granddad has died and her Gran is coming for a visit. Vicky wants to cheer her up by embroidering a cushion as a gift, but Vicky is left-handed and she struggles to learn how to sew. She decides that winning a race in the school sports might be a better idea – but can she do it, especially when Graham threatens to spoil all her plans?

The story highlights some of the challenges faced by left-handers.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D30CIJU


This link will take you to the Amazon website in your area https://getbook.at/TheRace

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website
 

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
If you enjoy a British setting and humour then don't miss this feel-good happy-ever-after read.

When 40-year-old former US navy officer Adam Wild takes up the position of head teacher at St Mary’s Academy for Girls in England, he knows he’ll have his work cut out for him. But what he doesn’t realise is that his greatest challenge will be in managing the all-female staff.

Intrigue, scandal and suspense simmer beneath the surface of this light-hearted and humour-peppered romance, where one man’s influence on a school full of wayward girls and their teachers changes their lives in ways none of them could imagine – and eventually his own.

FREE on all Amazon sites 9-13 November 2023 (US times)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00HB6329C
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HB6329C

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website
 

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
Re: [Jan Hurst-Nicholson] FREE 7-11 Dec. A thrilling chapter book for 7-12yrs
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2023, 12:43:36 AM »
FREE: For fans of Beatrix Potter and The Wind in the Willows who enjoy stories about animals with human characteristics.

Leon Chameleon PI and the case of the missing canary eggs will be FREE on all Amazon websites from 7 - 11 December.

A charming animal detective story for ages 7-12 (and fun for parents to read to younger children)

When Mrs Canary’s eggs mysteriously disappear, a frantic Mr Canary dashes straight off to the Pigeon Valley Police for help. Unfortunately, Sergeant Loerie and Constable Mole’s hasty attempts to make an arrest lead them to the wrong suspects.

"Destined to become a classic" reviewer.

This link will take you to the US Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007X5T2FE

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website
 

Jan Hurst-Nicholson

  • Epic Novel unlocked
  • ****
  • Posts: 1154
  • Thanked: 301 times
  • Don't let your emotions overpower your intellect
    • Just4kix Books
The Pitfalls, Pratfalls and Perils of PUBLIC SPEAKING
« Reply #7 on: January 26, 2024, 06:20:09 PM »
FREE until 29th January

Some things can only be learned from red-faced experience, like forgetting to switch off your lapel mike when visiting the restroom.


In this practical guide to public speaking experienced speakers share their anecdotes and tips on what to do, what not to do - and what can go hilariously wrong!

The ability to speak [confidently] in public is probably the most rewarding skill you will ever learn. It will not only improve your career prospects, but will also boost your self-confidence at social functions.

If you’ve ever:

  • Felt nervous about a career promotion because it involved public speaking.
    Been afraid to speak up in meetings, even when you have something valid to say.
    Turned down an invitation to speak at your garden club or similar occasions.
    Stepped up to the mike, only to choke horribly in the attempt.
    Felt intimidated by the thought of proposing a simple toast, or introducing and thanking a speaker.

You’ll learn how to conquer these fears in this step-by-step guide that takes you through all aspects of public speaking giving practical examples of what to do; what not to do – and what can go hilariously wrong!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FJVP47B
« Last Edit: January 26, 2024, 07:19:09 PM by Jan Hurst-Nicholson »

Non-fiction, Fiction, family saga, humour, short stories, teen, children's
Jan Hurst-Nicholson | author website