Author Topic: Ember Editing -- Copyediting and Proofreading at a Discounted Rate!  (Read 1460 times)

EmberKent

Hi, everyone! I'm new to Writer Sanctum. I found this place through a comment on KBoards and I see a lot of familiar faces here. I wasn't on the other site during whatever it was that prompted the creation of this one, however I do like that there are so many sections here dedicated to writing that are also genre-specific. I hope to be active and will be delving into other discussions very soon. :)

Now, to the advertising...

Last Updated: 2019/01/21

My name is David. I have been a part-time editor since 2012. In 2018, I transitioned into focusing on editing full-time. Throughout this journey I've had tastings of fiction editing.

I've proofread three fantasy novels and one self-help book. I've copyedited one instructional manual and I am currently copyediting a romance novel.

However, I hunger for more. Fiction editing is incredibly fulfilling and I want 2019 to be the year that I begin focusing more and more on it. I'm currently enrolled in Simon Fraser University's Editing Certificate program and I've been heavily involved in writing workshops, critique groups, novella-style play-by-post communities, and editing organizations for several years.

Yet the lack of experience does stand out, doesn't it? This is what I'd like to solve this year.

In order to gain experience quickly in a wide range of genres and editing types, I'm offering significant discounts for the foreseeable future.

What's the Catch?

Because of the low cost, I do want permission to use the title of your book and your pen name on my website and in my portfolio.

I'd also love a testimonial after the fact if you're happy with my work.

What's the Cost?

I am currently charging 0.0015 USD a word for proofreading. A 75,000 word novel would cost $112.50 USD.

I am currently charging 0.003 USD a word for copyediting. A 75,000 word novel would cost $225 USD.