Author Topic: My kid want a digital art device  (Read 1520 times)

notthatamanda

My kid want a digital art device
« on: April 22, 2021, 09:34:04 AM »
Saved up for it with their own money. Wants something with a pen where you can draw on a tablet. There is the option of an iPad and Procreate. Is there anything available for a Samsung/Android option that will do the same kind of thing? I have no experience with this stuff. All comments welcome.

Post-Crisis D

Re: My kid want a digital art device
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 09:43:04 AM »
Wacom also has devices available.  You can create your art on them and then transfer to Mac or PC.  Of course, you can do the same with an iPad and the prices are comparable.
Mulder: "If you're distracted by fear of those around you, it keeps you from seeing the actions of those above."
The X-Files: "Blood"

The following users thanked this post: notthatamanda

Al Stevens

• Medium Novel unlocked
  • Coffee-drinking, insomniac binge writer
    • Al Stevens, Author, Musician
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2021, 10:45:59 AM »
I use a Surface Pro with its pen for drawings. Besides being a tablet device it's also a full-featured Windows 10 computer. I like that I can disconnect the keyboard and it turns from a notebook computer into a tablet device.

PJ Post

« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2021, 12:38:52 AM »
I've used Wacom tablets for years. Currently, I'm using an older Cintiq 13 display. It's a professional, dedicated pen/art device - and it's absolutely amazing. They're a bit pricey for a passing interest, but if he's serious - they're totally worth it.

The Wacom One is a 13" 'entry-level' display, priced at $400.
The Wacom 16 is a Pro device going for $650.

Check YouTube reviews for real-life day to day user differences.