Author Topic: Gessert Books: Book Layout and Ebook Formatting  (Read 2145 times)

Gessert Books

• Flash Fiction unlocked
  • Book Layout and Formatting by Phillip Gessert
    • Gessert Books: Book Layout and Formatting
Gessert Books: Book Layout and Ebook Formatting
« on: September 22, 2018, 02:36:22 PM »
I'm Phillip Gessert; and I'm a book designer, typesetter and print/ebook formatter in Madison, WI. I've been a graphic designer for over ten years, I began building books full time in 2011, and am especially passionate about page typography. I pride myself on building books to a high standard of quality, both aesthetically and functionally.

I was a member of Kboards for around three years, but I wanted to take a moment to re-introduce myself and describe my service.

I provide fully validated ePub and MOBI files, suitable for publishing on the Kindle Store and other retailers. All ebooks are created using hand-coded HTML & CSS, and take the unique considerations for different devices into account. The books are built to be flexible and render predictably across a range of e-readers. And I use traditional and classical typographical principles to give the books an appealing look.

I also provide PDF files suitable for print. I'm happy to build to Createspace or Ingram specifications, or simply build to industry-standard print-readiness. I use my pre-press experience to preflight and prepare PDF files that most any print service provider would be delighted to receive.

I have a website with lots of details about my service. It also includes a number of testimonials like these:

Quote from: Kwasi Konadu, Diasporic Africa Press
Phillip and I have worked together for a few years now and with each project he has devoted himself to the task and will not quit until the job is done to satisfaction. Very personable and detailed-oriented, I recommend him highly!

Quote from: Nazli Ghassemi, desertmojito.com