Author Topic: What is your advice on budgeting for self publishing?  (Read 10420 times)

bardsandsages

Re: What is your advice on budgeting for self publishing?
« Reply #50 on: February 19, 2019, 11:45:30 PM »
If you have a good command of the English language, and your grammar isn't atrocious, you don't need to shell out hundreds of dollars for editing. And proofreading you can either do by yourself by reading your work aloud, or have someone you know read it over for you.

Two Points:

One, this assumes that people are good judges of their own abilities. I've found this is not the case. I can assure you, as an editor that reads HUNDREDS of submissions a month, far too many authors do not have a good grasp of the basic mechanics. Having a command of the English language, so to speak, for purposes of speaking is not the same as having a good grasp of mechanics for purposes of writing.

Two, this assumes people aren't blind to their own work. I AM an editor, but I won't proof my own stuff. Because I know I will read what I MEANT and not what I actually WROTE. Now I can proof my own stuff if I sit on it for a couple of months and come back to it with fresh eyes, because that distance allows me to read my work as if I was reading someone else's stuff. But for the OMG I HAZ TO PUBLISH NOW crowd that wants to hit the publish button as soon as they are done? Not gonna work.
Writer. Editor. Publisher. Game Designer. Resident Sith.

The following users thanked this post: VanessaC

bardsandsages

« Reply #51 on: February 20, 2019, 12:12:35 AM »