Author Topic: Question for cover designers: How important is using the same model for a series  (Read 1926 times)

keithsoares

• Tag Line unlocked
  • Striving for Step One.
    • Keith Soares author website
[Posted this on *that other board* earlier and got no responses. Wondering if I'll fare better here...!]

Although I have a degree in applied design and worked as a graphic designer for many years, I don't usually do my own covers. You gotta know your own limitations, right? So for my big series, I pay for covers, and I think that shows.

For smaller works, I go ahead and do my own covers because sometimes the costs don't make sense. I recently launched a new series (YA UF) and decided that I wanted to be able to move quickly - shorter length, crowd-editing (I know, that sounds scary), and self-designed covers.

My question for all the cover designers on these boards is this: How important is it to find a single model for the main character and stick with that model? Particularly when using stock, it isn't terribly easy to get a wide range of usable shots with the same model. I feel like I'd be lucky to get 3, total. Have you mixed models for the main character, and just done some touching up to make them look reasonably the same? Especially when some series go past 10 books, I have no idea how to make a character visually consistent.

Thanks
K.

PS This is the first in my new series: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07L23Y6MM

PPS I know that one of my reviews mentions typos. That is a beta reader review, from before corrections, so hopefully most of those were caught in the process.

Denise

I think if your model is supposed to represent your protagonist, then it should be the same mode. That said, in your cover you can't see much of your face, so perhaps you could have a similar looking model.