Author Topic: Do translated books sell?  (Read 213 times)

Denise

Do translated books sell?
« on: January 10, 2019, 10:53:11 AM »
I'm just wondering if anyone has had sales in Brazil, and how they compare to ebook sales in English.

CoraBuhlert

Re: Do translated books sell?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2019, 11:22:07 AM »
Brazil is my fifth biggest Amazon market, after com, Germany, UK and Australia. However, the books are in English. I do have some of my books translated into German and they sell well.

As always with translations, there are a few factors to consider:

1. Translations are an investment and a pretty big one. I have German translations, because I'm a translator in my day job and could therefore do it myself with no cost except my time.
2. Not every book/genre is a good fit for every market.
3. If you want to have your books translated, get a good translator with experience in literary translation, preferably in your genre. Extremely cheap translators tend to offer low quality translations that are hardly better than Google Translate.
4. The output of Google Translate should never, ever be foisted on paying customers.

Blog | Pegasus Pulp | Newsletter | Author Central | Twitter | Instagram
Genres: All of them, but mostly science fiction and mystery/crime

The following users thanked this post: Denise

Denise

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2019, 11:41:50 AM »
Awesome, thanks for the info!

I am a (part-time) translator, and that's why I'm asking. 

I see people doing royalty share and I can't see how it would pay for their time, unless there's some secret I don't know. But if there's a secret, I'd definitely like to know...

CoraBuhlert

« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2019, 12:16:02 PM »
If you work as a translator (Hi, fellow translator!) and have the time and inclination to do it, I'd give it a try. Maybe start with a shorter piece first to test the waters.