Author Topic: The Importance of Website Security  (Read 217 times)

Bill Hiatt

• Epic Novel unlocked
  • Tickling the imagination one book at a time
    • Bill Hiatt's Author Website
The Importance of Website Security
« on: May 19, 2019, 03:28:28 AM »
Should an author have a website? I'd say yes, though I'm not sure I've sold that many books as a result of having a site. If nothing else, it's a way to have your own platform, a place where you have total control of content and layout--unlike Amazon author pages and Facebook author pages.

However, running a website can be more complicated than it at first appears. I'm sharing my experience in this area, particularly regarding security, because that's one area I didn't think about at first. I think I had the subconscious assumption that hackers were only after big companies. Turns out they're after everyone.

I've been running a website since December of 2012 and never had a security problem--until early April. At that point, I discovered my site was redirecting elsewhere. It turned out that someone had managed to install malware that was responsible for the redirection. The vulnerability that made this possible came from a plugin that was almost immediately updated--but just a little too late for me. (Oftentimes, vulnerabilities in Wordpress plugins aren't spotted until someone exploits them.)

The good news is that Sitelock got the malware cleaned out right away. However, in the time between my hosting provider reopening the site (3 am my time), and the time I got back to my computer, the site had been infected again. (I'd also contracted with Sitelock to set up a firewall, but whoever infected it jumped in before the firewall was active. Yeah, luck wasn't with me.

The second infection was not as thorough. Reinstalling Wordpress killed that one. By then I was behind an effective firewall and getting daily malware scans from Sitelock. However, there are other possible issues.